Beginning my Spiritual Journey of the New Year

Some of the thoughts that have been on my mind at the start of this new year include a gratitude for the Savior, a desire to study better and know Him more, and a hope to teach my children the gospel and set as good of an example for them as my parents did for me.

To help me accomplish this desire and hope, I have set a goal to write more about the spiritual impressions I have. Often, I am overwhelmed with thoughts of a spiritual nature that I want to ponder. I have constant dialogues running through my head of things I want to write about and thoughts I want to record. But of course, when the time finally arrives that I have a moment to sit down and try to capture some of those reflections, my brain is immediately void of any and all coherent thought.

Some of the topics I have been pondering on lately include: temples, priesthood (Ammon’s ordination), Jesus as the ONLY source of healing from the deepest, darkest trials (Brother Shelton’s death),  my desire to live up to my parents example and becoming a gospel scholar (Dad’s Origin of Man Sunday school lesson), the Book of Mormon as the cornerstone of my life and how I can and should use its teachings to find answers to all of my questions in life starting with and most importantly the questions I have in parenting.

Tonight I am too tired to elaborate, even to myself, what some of my thoughts on these topics have been. But I want to record for myself, and more importantly, for my posterity, that I have a strong conviction that Jesus is the Savior of the World and that he leads the people of the world through living prophets and apostles. I believe in the restoration of his priesthood authority on the earth. I believe in personal revelation. I believe the Book of Mormon is a true account that is meant to testify of Christ and validate the teachings of the Bible. Most importantly, I believe that we have a loving Heavenly Father who created a perfect plan whereby we can and will be saved. Through the atonement of Jesus Christ, we will all be able to overcome physical and spiritual death.

This entry was posted in Visiting Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

